The Tipping Point for a Peaceful Home

Standard

sadie

I don’t know who recommended The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, but I picked it up two weeks ago not knowing what it was about.  After reading 300 pages about epidemics, I came away with one key point about simplifying:  context matters.

According to the Gladwell, “what really matters is little things….You can prevent crimes just by scrubbing off graffiti and arresting fare-beaters…..it is possible to be a better person on a clean street or in a clean subway than in one littered with trash and graffiti” (150-168).

That last sentence (emphasis mine) really stuck with me.  It’s possible to be a better person in a nice place because a cared-for environment shows that someone will notice when it’s messy and work to change it.  This is why a peaceful home is a clean home.  It’s because we feel like someone will notice when it’s out of place, and so we all do our part to keep it tidy together.

It’s a far cry from dirty dishes in the sink to the crime rate of New York, but there’s a lesson I can learn here: Keeping a home clean and uncluttered means that everyone will feel better.  I think I can live with that.

__________________________________________________________

©2009 at Simple Savvy, the simple living blog where I included a picture of Sadie on this post because nothing says “peaceful home” like a sleeping cat.

6 responses

  1. “Keeping a home clean and uncluttered means that everyone will feel better.” This is such a profound statement! Not only does everything seem less stressful when our home is in order, I feel like my brain is more organized when my world is organized.

    Great post!

    • Thanks! I always feel better while cleaning — like if I have something to mull over or get calm about, I’ll do the dishes. Or clear off the dining room table. It’s insta-therapy. I love it.

  2. For me I have sections of organized clutter. I have found that it is hard for me to force myself into during the month, so I have several baskets, and drawers throughout my house, filled with the months worth of clutter that I then organize at the end. That way I always feel as though my house is clutter free and the common areas always are, like the tables, desktops, kitchen sink etc. Just don’t look in my baskets. :)

  3. Pingback: On Organizing: When it All Comes Together « Simple Savvy

  4. Pingback: Old Calendar, Simple Advice « Simple Savvy

  5. Pingback: Big House, Little House « Simple Savvy