Wayland Winter Market

Standard

With a hearty hat tip to Peg of the Wayland Winter Market twitter feed, I rounded up a few friends and went adventuring last weekend.  Peg gave me the scoop that last Saturday’s farmer’s market was going to be a fiber day.  Yarn aplenty!

In an effort to knit down my existing stash, I didn’t purchase a skein (though I fondled quite a bit of fiber and had a serious conversation with myself for ten minutes about buying a ball of roving).  But these earth tone yarns from Windy Hamlet Farm were oh so tempting.

The market wasn’t all about the fiber, which comprised only a half the stalls.  There were vegetables and meats, eggs, fish, wines, spices, marinades, drinks, and lunch booths enough to make our mouths water.  “Its like wonderland,” I said to my fellow adventurers.  My friend who had never been to a farmer’s market laughed at the sight of my unfocused eyes and feverish smile.

We arrived ten minutes after the market started and already people clogged the aisles between stalls.  One of the worst traffic jams surrounded a bakery booth — and I didn’t blame anyone for stopping.

The sun cast a suffused golden light over everything through Russell’s Garden Center’s greenhouse windows.  Once again I was agog at the thought of all these people buying local, at the interactions that occur over a table lined with one farmer’s crops.

Visiting the farmer’s market makes me long for a farm of our own.  But until we get there, I’ll keep my spirits up and support local farmers at these markets — as well as soak in the goodwill that comes from hundreds of people doing the same.

__________________________________________________________

©2012 at Simple Savvy, the simple living blog where my purchases worked out to be eggs, greens, and sweet potatoes.  The line for cabbage was too long or I would have ended up with one of those as well.

8 responses

  1. The bakery stall is making me hungry just looking at it!

    Whenever I see pics of farmer’s markets in other locations they always seem so much more enticing than ours. 😦

  2. that yarn is just beautiful! I don’t think anyone at my markets sell fibers, or if they did, they aren’t as exciting!

    • I guess they only sell fibers once in a while because the woman who emailed me, Peg, made sure to tell me it was a fiber day. Which is exciting for me! All that local fiber in once place. 🙂

  3. I wish I could have gone with you!

    Btw, your blog doesn’t let me know when you’ve posted new entries.

  4. Ok, that’s it! I’m moving where you are. LOL! The little farmer’s market we have here in Southern Indiana doesn’t compare to this at all. Maybe we have one this great in Louisville, but I have yet to find the time to venture across the bridge to search out all the markets over there. I guess I need to put that on my calendar. Now I’m craving baked goods…. thanks. 😉