Interview with Centsible Life

Standard

Have you ever had one of those days?  One of those truly horrible days where even though you try to pull yourself out of it, nothing makes you happy?  That was my day yesterday.

Thankfully, there was one saving grace.  I called for help on Twitter, and Kelly at The ¢entsible Life responded adimirably; not only did she provide me with an interesting read, but we had a short Twitter conversation later.  It was nothing earth-shattering — but it pulled me out of the doldrums.

To thank Kelly, I am featuring her in a special post with a four question interview.  I’ll continue to interview bloggers whom I admire for their simple-living, eco-friendly, foodie ways on a regular basis — two or three times a month.  Check out Kelly’s interview below!

1.  What is your definition of Simple Living?

For me simple living is making my life as peaceful as possible so that I can spend time on projects and work that I love, and time with the people I love-my husband, kids, family and friends. The areas of my life that are necessary and boring or annoying like paying the bills, washing dishes, laundry, etc, all need to get done as quickly and efficiently as possible so I can do more of what I love.

2.  How do you keep your home life simple and/or organized?

I say “no” to a lot of activities, and keep the family’s schedule as simple as possible. I try to maintain a place for everything in our home, and encourage the kids to do the same. I create “homes” for their things, and if they can’t find something then it is a good reminder of where to look, and where their things should be going if they want to keep track of them. I also maintain a 1 in:1 out rule. If you bring home a new shirt/pair of shoes, etc. you must get rid of something else. Of course there are times when the mess still piles up around us (with 6 people in our house it’s inevitable!), so then we do a purge. That usually happens seasonally. Some items are sold, and some are given away. Less stuff=more time for each other and experiences, and my kids are usually pretty good about letting things go.

3.  What is your biggest challenge?

My biggest challenge is having patience. I always want everything done right now, but with young kids (we have 4 aged 11,7,5 and 3) there is usually a steady stream of interruptions. I rarely get time home alone, so I try to do things in small chunks like straightening 1 closet at a time.

4.  Do you have any books you’d recommend to readers?

For finances I recommend I Will Teach You To Be Rich, I know cheesy title, but great advice on streamlining your finances, and Your Money or Your Life. I like bite sized simplicity books like Elaine St. James’ Inner Simplicity. I love blogs on simple living — like yours! and Small Notebook.

Thank you, Kelly, for such great answers!  You can check out her blog at The ¢entsible Life for more on organizing, budgeting, and general awesomeness.

__________________________________________________________

©2009 at Simple Savvy, the simple living blog where I’m flattered to be included in the same class of blogs as Small Notebook.

Comments are closed.