Interview with Smart Family Tips

Standard

Smart Family Tips header -- I STOLE IT

It’s interview time again!  Smart Family Tips is a blog that I’ve admired for several months now.  The simple design caught my eye right away, and when I found out that Beth features different “do-gooders” every Friday, I was hooked.

As a reminder, two or three times a month, I’ll feature a four question interview with simple living-loving, eco-friendly, and foodie bloggers whom I admire. Here’s Beth’s take on Simple Savvy:

1.  What is your definition of Simple Living?

To me, simple living is reducing, to the greatest extent possible, all that isn’t absolutely necessary to make time and space for both our needs and wants.

2.  How does your home life fit in with your ideals?

My family and I are consciously trying to be more ecologically and socially responsible and as a result, our lives have become more simplified. For example:

  • We consume less (like fewer disposables, for one) which has resulted in less trash and less clutter.
  • We’re gardening and composting which helps us focus on where our food comes from and where it goes.
  • We buy locally when possible.
  • We donate the things we no longer need, when possible, directly to people for whom we know it will make a difference.

A nice bonus has been that my young daughters (3 1/2 year old twins) are learning why it’s important to conserve rather than waste, to care for the Earth, and to give to others.

3.  What is your biggest challenge?

Clutter! While it’s true we’re buying less, there’s still a great deal of paper that comes into our house, mostly from my daughters’ preschool. There are loads of toys by way of gifts from family and friends. And ALL the outgrown clothes I don’t get through often enough. It’s a constant battle to stay on top of all of it.

4.  Do you have any books you’d recommend to readers?

I do love books. A few I’m really fond of:

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver
Big Green Purse by Diane McEachern
Green Goes With Everything by Sloan Barnett
The Power of Less by Leo Babauta [Editor’s Note: You can check out more of Leo Babauta’s work at his blog Zen Habits]
And for little kids: Big Earth, Little Me by Thom Wiley

Beth, thanks for your responses!  I love having the chance to interview the people behind my favorite blogs.  Make sure to visit Smart Family Tips for more from Beth!

__________________________________________________________

©2009 at Simple Savvy, the simple living blog where I don’t have any affiliate accounts with Amazon (or with anyone else!), so click click click away and get yourself some used books.

One response