The Shilling Hat

Standard

 

THIS PATTERN HAS MOVED!  Please follow this link to my new blog, Earth Morning, for the Shilling hat.

It’s finished!  The Shilling hat is now available for free.  And here is the Ravelry link as well.  NOTE: It looks like I switched the charts around for the knitted flat and knitted round directions. If you downloaded the pattern prior to October 31, 2011, you’ll need to re-download the pattern for the updated version.  Thanks!

I designed this hat after watching the movie The King’s Speech one too many times, and falling in love all over again with the styles of the time period and the fashions of everyday people.  Can I help it that I’m all up in my vintage?  Don’t judge.

Mr. Savvy waited ever so patiently for me to finish this hat, and then to document it and photograph it and all those other things I did that are now safely ensconced in a post-knitting haze of finished object adrenaline.  Savvy’s very excited.  He’s a hat person.  Goodness knows what he has to be excited about since it’s the middle of August and it’ll be a long time before he gets to wear this… but don’t burst his bubble.

And now for the wooly details:

Together, we picked out a beautiful heathery rust color from the Cascade 220 Heathers line, which is a worsted weight wool.  The hat is knit on US size 4 and 6 (UK size 3.5 and 4) needles, and is sized for babies through adults.  I’ve charted the pattern, and written it for both flat knitters and knitters in the round, and while a beginner could knit it, advanced knitters won’t find it boring with its numerous cables and pattern changes.

And so my friends, have at it.  Let me know what you think, if  you have any questions, or if you find any mistakes.   I’m thrilled to finally release my knits into the wild.

__________________________________________________________

©2011 at Simple Savvy, the simple living blog where I‘m a split infinitive kind of woman, and if you don’t believe me, you should check out my wedding vows. 

14 responses

  1. Great hat. My Dh would love it, just in grey. And The King’s Speech is worth watching too many times. Fab movie

  2. How pretty. l have to make one this week. Thank you for posting this pattern. CJ in TX

  3. Hi Christine! I’m a long-time reader and occasional commenter (usually going by ‘bashtree’) here. A few months ago I started out as a freelance editor, and I am working my way into the knitting pattern tech editing world. I was wondering if you’d be interested in having me edit a couple of your patterns for free while I build my skills! I’ve listed my email and website in the login fields, or you can go to adeditorial.com to learn more about me and/or get in touch.

    Either way, I LOVE this hat pattern and I plan to make one in a deep shade of green. I realized the other day that I don’t have any knitted hats for myself – and I’ve been knitting for years!

  4. Pingback: How About This Weather? « Simple Savvy

  5. Pingback: Simple Sunday: The Berlin Fair « Simple Savvy

  6. Pingback: Reading Labels is Hazardous to my Health « Simple Savvy

  7. Christine, I have just started this hat after finding it on ravelry, clicked on your profile and come to find out I live one town over from you! small world 🙂 happy knitting
    Kate

  8. Great hat, and great pattern, thank you! Just made one in a deep blue. My second hat ever – first one, from a different pattern, was a complete flop, but this one knitted up quickly and beautifully, definitely no thanks to me. 🙂

  9. Great pattern. Have knitted an adult size and happy with the result though it isn’t as snug as I hoped. I can tweak that. Now, onto a childs one….less stitches but same pattern repeats….won’t that make the hat too ‘long’ for a child?

    • Thanks for stopping by! Yes, the pattern runs large as my family members have big domes. When I test knit the pattern, I knitted the Child Large and the Adult Large sizes, and both worked for my husband and my seven year old nephew. But again: HUGE craniums. This, coupled with a liking of wearing the hats low, makes for a large hat. If you like your hats shorter, remove the second pattern repeat before starting the decreases. I know a few people did this on Ravelry and the hats turned out well for them. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Knitting hats when it’s too hot to wear them | Long Lake Yarns